97 Bulbs of Garlic on the Wall, 97 Bulbs of Garlic…

Ahoy garlic!  'Tis a fine treasure indeed!
Ahoy garlic! ‘Tis a fine treasure indeed!
Bulbs set up to cure for a few weeks...
Bulbs set up to cure for a few weeks…

image

The Estate Garden has done well in some respects, not so well in others.  More on that later.

Tonight, we shall discuss one thing:  garlic!

The garlic was harvested.  Of 132 cloves planted in the autumn of 2012, 97 bulbs were harvested this week.  I used my handy dandy treasure map to determine which variety was planted where and how many went into the earth to begin with.

Overall, the bulbs were smaller that I had hoped.  I did leave the scapes on this year;  I think next year I will cut them off when they appear.  One variety, Georgia Crystal, did not produce.  Not sure if the bulb I had purchased was to blame or if it was just a bad area to grow garlic?  Only one other variety, Spanish, was planted in that bed and out of two cloves planted, only one survived to bulb-dom.  I think I will attempt to secure more Georgia Crystal and try in this suspect area again as well as another bed and try to deduce what the problem was.

So my next problem is what does one do with 97 bulbs of garlic?  Obviously the best bulbs will be chosen for seed next year and we will make some fresh garlic bread, but then what?  My Pinterest boards are already clogged with ideas and recipes galore.  If you are Pittsburgh local and want some for seed, let me know, I have plenty to share!

2 thoughts on “97 Bulbs of Garlic on the Wall, 97 Bulbs of Garlic…

Leave a Reply

