Freak Show: Your Free Ticket Awaits

I’m going show you something frightening. Something out-of-control scary. Something I am embarrassed of but perhaps the shame will keep me in check.

This is my workspace. My studio. Right in the corner of our dining room. Oh, the horror!

EEEEKKKK!!!
EEEEKKKK!!!

Piles of upcycled fabrics cascading down the wall. Sewing table cluttered  and dripping with packing materials, scraps of ribbon and paperwork. Fabric spilling over to the radiator cover and window. Ironing board without space to iron.

Get the smelling salts!
Get the smelling salts!
how much longer til the sunlight gets blocked out?
how much longer til the sunlight gets blocked out?
nice organization system you got...
nice organization system you got…

DSC03195

side view
side view
hmm, now where did that seam ripper go?
hmm, now where did that seam ripper go?
close up; please don't come closer, for your safety, as the Wild Boy of Borneo lives in there!
close up; please don’t come closer, for your safety, as the Wild Boy of Borneo lives in there!
DSC03199
Look what I found- completed cross stitch from maybe four or five years ago?

How did it ever get so bad? Truly it did not always look this way. Once, there were neat stacks of fabrics, you could see space on the table and the ironing board would be stowed away in a closet unless I was sewing. Now, the ironing board is an integral part of the “organization system.” Or so I tell myself.

Why am I exhibiting this? Why am I inviting you to look into my window, to gawk at my imperfection?

I am changing it. I really am this time. Nature Boy, fantastic carpenter du jour, has built me a brand-new “fabric shelf” of my imagining. It will reign in my chaos. It will change my life.

Nature Boy's handywork complete
BEHOLD! The one…
Carpenter in training!
A wee carpenter
work crew, ready to prime!
work crew, ready to prime!
work crew
That’s right, she uses two brushes…

Tonight, we primed it and hope to paint it tomorrow, one of my most favorite colors. It will not sit quietly in the corner. It will shout at me, “Come here and look at all of this fabric and get inspired and make something!” It will be bright and cheery and catch my eye. Onward, to progress, to change, to efficiency! Well, at least perhaps in sewing.

3 thoughts on “Freak Show: Your Free Ticket Awaits

  1. Pingback: From Freak Show to… « brown bird green string

Leave a Reply

