My quest…

It’s been a rough journey but it may be coming to an end!

So on my quest, I jumped into my car and headed west, looking for that enigma, that charmed one, that which I seek.  Yes, a new sewing machine.

My travels took me to the crossroads of crafty and artsy.  Yes, Joann Fabric.  A place where you can go and try out a sewing machine and meet your new best friend.

Or so I thought.  My experience resulted in extreme disappointment.  Maybe it was my budget.  Basically, there was a Viking Emerald 16 stitch machine on sale for $299 I was interested in.  The saleslady said she would show me the 18 stitch model as there was no wound bobbin in the 16 stitch.  Seriously, why not wind one and show me how that works?  The 18 stitch then jammed multiple times in the bobbin case, which was exactly one thing I was experiencing with the machine I have now.  Mind you this was a $400 machine she was trying to demonstrate!  She got so frustrated she moved me to the next one, also more expensive, maybe $500-$600?  She got it to sew after trying to use the automatic needle threader for like 10 minutes and big surprise, it jammed, causing loops all over the back of the fabric and a huge vomiting of thread all over the place.  She then said I should just buy an embroidery machine (even though we had discussed my budget three times by then).  She then asked me to move to the most expensive machine there so she could show me it’s fine features, which are many but are beyond my needs and means!!!  She did not sew anything, just was touching the stylus to the computer screen to show me all sorts of ingenious inclusions.  She then declared I should buy a floor model and told me it would be $5,000 instead of $8,000 and this was a “huge deal.”  Thankfully, a woman in need of a lightbulb came by.  She never even offered to let me try a machine out!  As I was leaving she told me to remember to give them her name if I came back to buy a machine as they earn commission.  I wanted to laugh out loud, heartily and in her face, but I kept myself in check.  After all, a knight who happens to be a lady has to uphold a certain reputation on quest!

I am glad for this though.  What it taught me: it doesn’t matter how much you pay for your sewing machine, it will still vomit thread on you or jam or make loopy messy stitches and make you want to scream from time to time.  There is no need for me to feel as though I need to take a loan out for a machine.  These curse-inducing things will still happen.   My quest had twisted again, turned in another direction.

I went to Hobby Lobby before heading to Moe’s for sustenance.  They do not sell machines there but I chatted with a woman of knowledge, a keeper of thread and fabric and wisdom.  We discussed my quest, my disappointments.  She advised I vacuum out my current machine and/or have it cleaned.  She also gave me some names of other sewing machine dealers in the surrounding kingdoms.

I thought about all of this as I stood in line for my Overachiever Taco, then drove back to The Estate.  I suddenly knew what I would do.

I ordered up a Brother cs6000i from Amazon.com.  Free shipping, $160.  I figure what do I have to lose?  It’s under budget, has lots of good reviews online and will give me two machines, meaning I will have a backup if one really goes south.  I will keep my eye out for a 1940-1950 Singer old-school for dirt cheap (yard sales, estate sales, etc), have it serviced and call my quest complete.

More to come, I’m sure, when my new Brother gets here.  You bet I will give it to you straight, too!

5 thoughts on “My quest…

  1. Hi, I just wanted to stop by and let you know again how awesome your blog is and to thank you for your support and comments and likes you have given me on my blog!!! To show my appreciation I have nominated you for the one lovely blog award!!! Thanks heaps from Peppermia 🙂

  2. Pingback: The New Girl « brown bird green string

  3. First of all I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself
    and clear your thoughts prior to writing. I have had
    a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.
    I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10
    to 15 minutes are usually wasted just trying to
    figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Kudos!

    • Thanks for your comment and for reading. I normally have an idea of a topic to write about before I sit down to do so. I spend the day chasing after my two wee ones and cleaning and such, so I tend to think about things whilst folding laundry or washing dishes so that the extreme boredom of the task at hand does not just put me to sleep. Obviously, for me, evenings or naptimes are good times to write. I like to sit down with a cup of tea and then I just start typing. I change things as I go and some things I write stay as drafts and I never publish or finish them. Hope this helps and I wouldn’t worry or focus on “wasted” time. You’re being creative and in my book, those moments are never wasted! Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

