Wrapping up

upcycled grocery bag with stamp
ta-dah!
inside view

As the holidays draw near I am finally finishing up some loose ends. Baking, knitting, sewing, crafting, cleaning and of course, wrapping gifts. Most years I use old paper grocery bags to wrap gifts; I usually use rubber stamps to decorate it a bit. This however proved very difficult with two wee ones; we did buy some commercial wrap and we will recycle it but it still doesn’t seem to me the greenest choice.

To make myself feel a bit better I managed to sew four small drawstring bags to “wrap” some items which are headed for Wee One’s stocking. I plan to continue to reuse them year after year and maybe during the coming months I will get it together and make some more fabric bags to “wrap” bigger presents in too. That will happen right after I finish the fabric napkins and make cloth sandwich wrap bags, all of which I’ve had on my to-do list for at least a year, if not more. So maybe in 10 years?

Good intentions, at least!

4 thoughts on “Wrapping up

    • Thanks! Now if I only had about four more arms, two more sewing machines and an unattractive live-in nanny, all my giftwrap would be reusable…

  1. I like the deer stamp on the upcycled bag. I’ve got such a bag as part of Mum’s Christmas present and am thinking of how to design it – with textile ink or applique?

    • How pretty! I like both but I’m a sucker for applique! Please post about it if you can, would love to see it!

Leave a Reply

